Son-shine

Dear Son,

The day you were born, you had my heart. I knew you could do no wrong in my eyes in eternities to come. It will never be your fault, ever. I know you are reading and wondering this doesn’t remotely sound like my mother!

We knew of your arrival before your birth. Your sister was confident of finally getting the younger sister she wanted to play with. Her firm conviction made it necessary to prepare her earlier in case it was otherwise. When the doctor pointed at the ultrasound screen to congratulate her on little bro instead of little sis, there was a palpable silence. Back in the day, this reaction would be an anamoly in any Indian household.

As a second time mom of a healthy baby, I should have exuded confidence. Instead, I felt a bit nervous just because I found out it’s a boy. I was raised in an all girl household. What did I know about raising boys.

Presently, as you prepare to leave the nest, I attempt to self assess my boy-mom career and pray you concur.

At playschool, your favourite corner was the toy kitchen and ironing board area. Although at home, you spent hours playing with dinky cars. Unlike your sister, for the longest time, you didn’t muster the courage to watch Monsters Inc. However, Cars movie was your jam, and you were perfectly happy to watch Barbie Princess movies. Dare I hope somewhere we blurred the lines of gendered activities. Please continue cooking breakfast or enjoy go-karting, but remember to watch more soppy movies.

I can’t talk about you and not mention sports. I had to stop watching the professional teams play as I was always watching you at practice or matches or in our garden. Over time, I saw you hone your skills, be disciplined about fitness, take care of your gear, win, and lose matches all with true sportsman’s spirit. I am glad you chose sport. Not because of the silly notion that it’s a boy thing to do, but it is absolutely your thing. True passion in men or women begets success. So stay motivated.

Both you and your sister confided that you were awaiting the letter from Hogwarts. It didn’t happen. I am sorry I was busy growing two human beans to human beings. I don’t want you to have super human powers. Please be reassured that you will never have to cajole a sorting hat to put you in popular Gryffindor. Today, your charm, sensitivity, and empathy have earned you wonderful friends. Keep this attitude. The world needs more empathathetic men than wizards.

Your sis often pulls your leg and calls you out for being a typical brown boy for going after STEM earnestly. If it takes brown genes to build this world, I will take that on my chin. Go forth bravely, be innovative, and build not only hydrogen fuel cell cars, solar powered buildings, but also your relationships in love or friendship. Stay mindful, boy.

Last but not least, the modern world is a difficult place to navigate. You will get lost a number of times. Dont be afraid to ask for help from Alexa, GPS Lady, a professional counsellor, or the smart lady in your life. Act like a normal man.

Proud of you, my sonny boy! Let your light shine.

Love,

Mom

Leave a comment